People constantly gush over the funny things that their kids say, but I swear, my son if completely, and utterly off-the-hook! D2 and I literally have the exact same dialogue every morning, below is the conversation explained to my husband:
In the conversation with my husband, I'm referring to not getting to sleep in, and it would be because of this creepy crawly in my bed at 6:30 am - on a Saturday...the nerve!
I had never really prepared myself for the "why" stage, but, I do feel like I've got a little bit of a handle on it. Some examples of conversations I have with D2:
Me: We're going to go home now D2.
D2: Why Mommy?
Me: Because it's getting dark.
D2: Why?
Me: Because we live on a big ball, and the ball rotates, and when it rotates, and we're away from the sun, it's dark, but...the Philippines has light!
D2: Oh.
And another one...
(Context: A Walking Dead commercial comes on AMC when we're at my parent's house)
Me: I don't like zombies.
D2: Why?
Me: Do you like undead beings eating your legs, arms, fingers and eyeballs?
D2: Yay!
Me: What?
D2: I don't know.
And another one...
Me: We're going to go out today.
D2: Why?
Me: Because we're going to go to the park.
D2: I scared... the zombies are going to get us.
Me: Zombies aren't real.
D2: Why?
Me: Because they're fake.
D2: Why?
Me: Okay, they're real.
D2: Yay! I wanna go.
There are so many more conversations that we have where I'm puzzled by how insightful he is, and vulnerable and brave all at the same time. I find myself giggling throughout the day thinking of all of the awesome things he's capable of saying.






0 comments:
Post a Comment